case 4623 - docs: what the v7 to v8 migration erases and keeps

The erased-database section said "all user entered data ... except"; it now
lists what is erased and what is kept, from the erase code (tax codes are
erased by the migration, AyaNova 7's replace them).

Co-Authored-By: Claude Opus 5.5 <noreply@anthropic.com>
This commit is contained in:
2026-10-26 10:33:13 -07:00
parent 5afd804586
commit 4ca6c9b2e3

View File

@@ -84,13 +84,26 @@ Be sure to have all staff carefully test all business processes they require in
### AyaNova 8 database will be erased ### AyaNova 8 database will be erased
The V8Migrate plugin will erase **all** user entered data including attached files in the AyaNova 8 database as the first step with the following exceptions: As its first step the V8Migrate plugin erases the AyaNova 8 database so it can be filled with your AyaNova 7 data.
**Erased** (replaced by the data migrated from AyaNova 7):
- All business data: Customers, Head offices, Customer contacts, Vendors, Units and Unit models, Parts and inventory, Purchase orders, Work orders, Quotes, Preventive maintenance, Projects, Contracts, Customer service requests, Loaners, Memos, Reminders, Reviews
- Business settings entered as records: Service rates, Travel rates, Tax codes, Work order and Quote statuses, Work order item statuses and priorities, Task groups
- All Users except the SuperUser account
- Attached files, Tags, custom fields set up with [Customize form](ay-customize.md), saved data table filters and column views, autocomplete templates
- Notification subscriptions and notifications, history, dashboard layouts, custom (non stock) translations and data stored by integrated applications such as QBI
**Kept**:
- The SuperUser account and its password
- Global settings - Global settings
- Operations backup settings - Operations backup settings
- Operations notification settings - Operations notification settings (including the email server settings)
- Business logos - Business logos
- Reports (any missing stock report templates will be re-installed) - Reports (any missing stock report templates will be re-installed)
- The stock translations
- The license
There is no ability to synchronize or partially migrate only recent changes from v7; the migrate process entirely replaces the V8 data each time it's run. There is no ability to synchronize or partially migrate only recent changes from v7; the migrate process entirely replaces the V8 data each time it's run.