From 4ca6c9b2e384eecf04a600914aab422c3ca4f7f3 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001 From: John Cardinal Date: Mon, 26 Oct 2026 10:33:13 -0700 Subject: [PATCH] case 4623 - docs: what the v7 to v8 migration erases and keeps The erased-database section said "all user entered data ... except"; it now lists what is erased and what is kept, from the erase code (tax codes are erased by the migration, AyaNova 7's replace them). Co-Authored-By: Claude Opus 5.5 --- docs/8.0/ayanova/docs/ops-import-v7.md | 17 +++++++++++++++-- 1 file changed, 15 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-) diff --git a/docs/8.0/ayanova/docs/ops-import-v7.md b/docs/8.0/ayanova/docs/ops-import-v7.md index feba66eb..ba60f57c 100644 --- a/docs/8.0/ayanova/docs/ops-import-v7.md +++ b/docs/8.0/ayanova/docs/ops-import-v7.md @@ -84,13 +84,26 @@ Be sure to have all staff carefully test all business processes they require in ### AyaNova 8 database will be erased -The V8Migrate plugin will erase **all** user entered data including attached files in the AyaNova 8 database as the first step with the following exceptions: +As its first step the V8Migrate plugin erases the AyaNova 8 database so it can be filled with your AyaNova 7 data. +**Erased** (replaced by the data migrated from AyaNova 7): + +- All business data: Customers, Head offices, Customer contacts, Vendors, Units and Unit models, Parts and inventory, Purchase orders, Work orders, Quotes, Preventive maintenance, Projects, Contracts, Customer service requests, Loaners, Memos, Reminders, Reviews +- Business settings entered as records: Service rates, Travel rates, Tax codes, Work order and Quote statuses, Work order item statuses and priorities, Task groups +- All Users except the SuperUser account +- Attached files, Tags, custom fields set up with [Customize form](ay-customize.md), saved data table filters and column views, autocomplete templates +- Notification subscriptions and notifications, history, dashboard layouts, custom (non stock) translations and data stored by integrated applications such as QBI + +**Kept**: + +- The SuperUser account and its password - Global settings - Operations backup settings -- Operations notification settings +- Operations notification settings (including the email server settings) - Business logos - Reports (any missing stock report templates will be re-installed) +- The stock translations +- The license There is no ability to synchronize or partially migrate only recent changes from v7; the migrate process entirely replaces the V8 data each time it's run.